For Visually

    What we do    International relations    Cooperation with international organizations in the field of transport    Danube Commission
Print Version

Danube Commission

The Danube Commission is an international intergovernmental organization established by the Convention regarding the regime of navigation on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 August 1948.

The main objectives of the Danube Commission’s activity are to provide and develop free navigation on the Danube for the commercial vessels flying the flag of all states in accordance with interests and sovereign rights of the Member States of the Belgrade Convention, as well as to strengthen and develop economic and cultural relations of the said states among themselves and with the other countries.

The Member States of the Danube Commission are: the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Bulgaria, Hungary, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Republic of Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Ukraine and the Republic of Croatia.

Since 1954 the Commission has its seat at Budapest.  The official languages of the Danube Commission are German, Russian and French.

Ukraine became a member of the Danube Commission in 1949. The reason for gaining membership was the Resolution of the Ukrainian SSR Verkhovna Rada on Ratification of the Convention on Navigation on the Danube, February 18, 1949.